democlan.blogg.se

Used mac servers for small business
Used mac servers for small business













used mac servers for small business

Which one you choose depends on your needs in a server. There are a few ways to set up a Mac mini to have it specifically act as a server rather than a computer. You can create that server pretty easily and pretty cheaply with just a Mac mini. Either way, it’s awfully convenient to keep a server around-which is why, 20 years after I started, I’ve still got one.Having a server is the best way to easily share and back up files or stream media across multiple devices. If I were starting from scratch today, I might consider a NAS-but I suspect that it wouldn’t be compatible with everything I use my Mac for, especially connecting to my home weather station. You’ve got to stick it somewhere, and it’s just another thing cluttering up your house.Īll in all, I’m glad I’ve got a Mac server in my house. But if you’ve got, say, an iMac, you’re stuck with the big screen. More junk: You can run a Mac without any keyboard or monitor attached, in which case your server can take up very little space. Or just remember to turn it on when you want to watch videos or listen to music. I haven’t measured, but I’d imagine that I would use a lot less energy if I dumped my Drobo and Mac mini duo and replaced it with a single low-power NAS.Īn extra device: If you’ve got a Mac you tend to use most of the time, you could make it your “household server” by leaving it on all the time, rather than dedicating an additional device. Most modern NAS devices are designed to be power efficient. You can put an old iMac, Mac mini, or even laptop into service as a server with little or no financial investment.īuying one of these is cheaper than buying a Mac.Įnergy: Running a Mac server all the time, especially if it’s attached to external hard drives, can use a lot of power. Once I got a fresher model, the old one went in the closet and served me for a few more years as my server. My first two Mac servers were both hand-me-down Power Macs. You have to administer them from a webpage and if there’s trouble, you will be entering a world of troubleshooting that can get alien and frustrating in a hurry.Īvailability: One of the best sources of Mac server hardware is an old Mac you already own.

#USED MAC SERVERS FOR SMALL BUSINESS HOW TO#

You probably know how to share files and folders, run iTunes, the works. Reasons to use a Mac serverįamiliarity: If you’re a Mac user, you know how to use a Mac. Not everyone can stream HD movies with impunity. If there’s a big enough disk attached to that computer, it can also be the place you stash old files-especially if you’re using a newer Mac that’s got a smaller flash drive rather than a bigger spinning disk drive.Īnd if you use an online backup service, such as CrashPlan or Backblaze, you can back up that Mac and all of your precious files will be backed up, too.įinally, if your home Internet service is slow, spotty, or metered, having a home server allows you to stock up on content-especially music and movies-and have them available to watch on a moment’s notice.

used mac servers for small business

Let’s say you have a large collection of media files-music or videos-that you want to have available to play on your stereo or TV. It can be very convenient to have a computer that’s always available. What I’m saying is, it’s complicated Why have a home server? Then again, running a Mac server isn’t for everyone-and these days, network-attached storage (NAS) devices can provide most of the functionality of a computer at a lower cost and reduced complexity. But despite all that change, the presence of a server in my house has always been useful. Over the years, the hardware has changed-at least four times, so far as I can remember-and the tasks required of it have changed dramatically, too.

used mac servers for small business

I think I’ve had a Mac running as a server in my house continuously for nearly 20 years.















Used mac servers for small business